About Me: I am a wife, mother to 2 teenagers and live in Scotland, although I am English. I have lived in 5 countries, including the Middle East - where I was an expat from the age of about 5 years. I had the good fortune to go to an international school, where I learnt French and developed an awareness of other cultures. I remember teaching my whole family how to dive so can say that Ive been doing this all my life.

It is little surprise that I have gravitated towards a career in languages and teaching; initially as a secondary Modern Language Teacher (of French, with Spanish and then German, to classes of up to 34 students) and then as a Basic Skills Trainer (teaching mainly Literacy and Numeracy, and some French, to groups of up to 12 students); I have also worked in many settings as an ESOL Teacher, starting this as an assistant in French schools for the third year of my degree (when I actually taught primary and secondary classes myself, alongside private lessons in my spare time).

I worked on a sole trader basis in Gosport, prior to moving to Scotland (from 2016 to 2017) and since April, 2018, have worked as a sole trader here in Scotland (at Dunfermline Language Tuition). Please see references on the Facebook page, with the same title and on my Linked-in page. I have also worked at a national after-school tuition centre since 2018, helping children with English and Maths (and occasionally, with French); current work there involves helping young children, those with hearing problems (as I know how to use makaton) and foreign nationals; I work there two or three times a week.

I am trained to work with all age groups so help children and adults: currently, primary and secondary/ high school students wanting to learn French or improve their English (some to whom I am reading a book called Bad Dad by David Walliams); also currently, a Spanish trainee teacher and a Polish lady wanting to sit the Citizenship Test. I have previously taught French to people emigrating to France and to a gentleman working in border security, in Calais, who may return for lessons at some point.

I love tutoring!

Course Description: I help students to build their skills and to fill gaps in their knowledge.

Price: £27.50 Per Lesson

courses available with this tutor

# Course Name Description Price
1 French I help anyone interested in learning French, or studying for exams; from beginne... £27.50 Per Lesson
2 English Language I help students to fill gaps in their knowledge. £27.50 Per Lesson
3 English Grammar I am a native English speaker and have taught various exams (FCE, IELTS, CAE, TO... £27.50 Per Lesson
4 Special Needs Education I help students with special needs to build their confidence and to improve thei... £27.50 Per Lesson
5 Teaching English as a Foreign ... Starting with an assessment, I help students to improve their communication skil... £27.50 Per Lesson
6 Teaching English For Speakers ... I help students to build their skills and to fill gaps in their knowledge. £27.50 Per Lesson

Contact Teacher